Album Review: The Tortured Poets Department

Taylor Swift releases her 11th studio album, The Tortured Poets Department.
A photo of Taylor Swift’s The Tortured Poets Department album cover.
A photo of Taylor Swift’s The Tortured Poets Department album cover.
Image/Graphics by Taylor Swift

On April 19th, 2024, singer and songwriter Taylor Swift released her 11th studio album titled: The Tortured Poets Department (TTPD). She previously announced that she would be releasing this album at the Grammy Awards in February of this year. As she announced this, she mentioned that she had been working on this album for around 2 years. Although Taylor has released two re-recorded albums (Speak Now and 1989) this past year (2023) this is her first brand new album since releasing Midnights in October of 2022. Taylor released TTPD at midnight on April 19th with the lead single Fortnight (feat. Post Malone) and 15 other brand new songs. Fortnight also has a music video you can watch at various sites. That same day at 2 am, Taylor released a second album called The Tortured Poets Department: The Anthology. This album has the previous 16 new songs and 15 more new songs. This album is rumored to be a break-up album about her former boyfriend Joe Alwyn, and is known to be one of Taylor’s most personal albums yet. 

   The first album starts with the lead single Fortnight (feat. Post Malone ). After this song, it leads to the title track: The Tortured Poets Department. Then after is a song called My Boy Only Breaks His Favorite Toys which is speculated to be talking about Joe.  Track 4 is a catchy tune called Down Bad. So, Long London follows, which is in contrast to her song London Boy, which was on her Lover album. Next, there are But Daddy I Love Him and Fresh Out the Slammer, two very good songs.  Track 8 is a song called Florida!!! (feat Florence+ The Machine), bringing a very different vibe inside of this album. After that there is Guilty as Sin? and Who’s Afraid of Little Old Me? which are heartbreaking break-up songs. Track 11 is called I Can Fix Him (No Really I Can), a song about being in love with a “bad boy” and how every girl thinks they can change them.  Track 12 is loml which is my personal favorite. I Can Do It With A Broken Heart and The Smallest Man Who Ever Lived is next. The last two songs of the first album are The Alchemy which is about Taylor’s new boyfriend Travis Kelce and Clara Bow which is about Clara Bow, an actress from the 1920s, who is known for being the first “it” girl

  The second album consists of 15 more songs. The first one is The Black Dog which again talks about a bar that fans have speculated she and Joe had visited often. Then there is imgonnagetyouback. After that, there is a song called The Albatross, which has multiple different inuendos if you feel like looking them up. Next is a song called Chloe or Sam or Sophia or Marcus. Then track 21 is How Did It End? about her and Joe’s relationship. After that is So High School, which is obviously about her relationship with Travis Kelce and I Hate It Here.  Then what is interpreted to be a song about Kim Kardashian is next, called thanK you aIMee. I Look in People’s Windows follows which has a very catchy tune. The next song called The Prophecy is about being lonely. After that are two songs called Cassandra and Peter. Finally, tracks 29, 30, and 31 are called The Bolter, Robin, and The Manuscript. 

 A student at West Branch, Finely O’Hare, shared, “ I haven’t gotten to listen to all of them yet but I love Flordia!!! the most. I think this is such a good album and that Taylor and her team did a great job.”

More to Discover